Young Authors State Celebration

Young Authors State Celebration

The Young Authors state winners celebration will be held on Saturday, March 14, at 2:00PM. Registration will begin at 1:00PM. Winners must sign in before the celebration so that we will know who is present.  Each winner will be presented with a book containing all of the 2014-2015 state-winning essays.  There will be extra books available for sale at the celebration; t-shirts, pens, and notebooks will also be available for sale.

Kelly Starling Lyons will be our guest speaker.  For more information, please visit her website .

The Raleigh St. Patrick’s Day Parade and Festival will be also be held on March 14 beginning at 10:00AM.  Please be prepared for high traffic.  For information on the Parade, Festival, and vendors, please visit their website

Public Parking:

Public parking garages are located on Lenoir Street between Salisbury and McDowell Street, on McDowell Street between Cabarrus and Davie Street, and on Salisbury Street between Cabarrus and Davie Street. All of these garages are close to the Convention Center. The cost is $7.

For more information about parking downtown and access, please view this parking facilities map or this parking brochure.

Directions to the Convention Center
The Raleigh Convention Center is located at 500 South Salisbury Street, Raleigh, NC 27601. For directions to the Convention Center, head here.

If you are interested in spending the night in Raleigh before or after the Young Authors Celebration, the NC Reading Association has a discounted block of rooms available. Reserve today as the rate is only available if you book before 2/27. After that, the rate goes up over $100 per night! Here’s the link.

If you are a state winner, you should have already been contacted by your teacher or local council Young Author chair. Listed below are the Councils that had state winners this year.  Please contact the local council Young Author chair for any questions or concerns you might have.
​Blue Ridge Teresa Carpenter        ​
​Charlotte ​Debbie Klinghagen
​Crystal Coast ​Yvonne-Nicole Maisel de st. Croix
​Duplin County ​Carol Murphy
​Greater Cabarrus ​Rachael Rovenstine
​Greater Greensboro ​Tasha Fulmore
​Harnett County ​Michele Lee
​Lee County ​Rhonda Fancher
​Moore County ​Ann Spong
​New Hanover ​Penelope Windsor
​Onslow-Lejeune ​Tracy McIntyre
​Price ​Ellen Pesko
​Raleigh-Wake ​Pamela Jackson
​Robeson County ​Tonnye Fletcher
​Tar River ​Molly Byers
​Triangle ​Kristin Wetherby
​Twin Rivers ​Ginny Mangum
​Western Mountain ​Diane Cotton
​Winston-Salem/Forsyth County ​Sabrina Secrest