Celebrate Literacy committee

Celebrate Literacy committee

 “Literacy is not a luxury, it is a right and a responsibility. If our world is to meet the challenges of the twenty-first century, we must harness the energy and creativity of all our citizens.” — President Bill Clinton

Cassandra Graves leads the Celebrate Literacy Committee. The James B. Hunt, Jr. Celebrate Literacy Award recognizes individuals, agencies or institutions in North Carolina for service given in promoting literacy among children and adults and in striving to develop reading and writing communities. Local councils submit nominees to the Celebrate Literacy committee for consideration. Members of NCRA’s Celebrate Literacy Committee reviews projects that show evidence of making lasting contributions to community literacy.

Anyone preparing an application should describe the program in detail and include artifacts generated through the project.

Download the Celebrate Literacy application.

Others may contact a local council and work through the council to obtain the application and nominate an individual, agency or institution for the James B. Hunt Jr. Celebrate Literacy Award. You will find links to local COUNCILS on the map located on this website.

Click here to contact NCRA President, Jeanne Swafford.

Click here to contact Cassandra Graves.