NCRA committees

NCRA Committees

NCRA President, Karyn Gloden, appoints chairpersons to lead committees and/or members of the Executive Committee, which includes elected offices, lead committees. The Bylaws assign responsibilities to members of the Executive Committee. Below, STARS identify members of the Executive Committee.

The Bylaws describe the committees and other programs and projects of the North Carolina Reading Association.


1.  The Executive Committee: Chairperson- President

The Executive Committee consists of the following voting members: President, President-elect, Vice President, Secretary, Treasurer, ILA State Coordinator, Membership Director, and immediate Past President. The executive assistant(s) serve as non-voting members of the Executive Committee.


2.  Governance Committee: Chairperson – Immediate Past President

The Governance Committee is responsible for the strategic planning for the association, reviewing the bylaws and the association’s policies and procedures outlined in the Handbook, and nominating individuals for the elected positions of the organization. The Governance Committee shall also be responsible for keeping historical records of the organization.


3.  Finance Committee: Chairperson – Treasurer

The Finance Committee is responsible for providing financial oversight for the association, including but not limited to preparing the annual budget that supports the mission and strategic plan of the association. Members of the Budget Committee shall include members of the Executive Committee.


4.  Awards Committee: Chairperson – President-elect

The Awards Committee shall be responsible for recognizing outstanding individuals and organizations that support literacy. This includes awards sponsored by NCRA and ILA include, but are not limited to, the following: Celebrate Literacy Award, ILA’s Award of Excellence, Mary Ellen Skidmore Project Grants, Exemplary Reading Program Award, and Scholarships.


5.  Communication Committee: Chairperson – ILA State Coordinator

The Communication Committee shall assume primary responsibility for the direction and supervision of all communications, including social media and other means, to keep constituents informed of important activities, functions, developments, and so forth. The committee shall communicate information about all aspects of the local association, as well as ILA.


6.  Conference Committee: Co-chairpersons: President, Executive Assistant/s

The Conference Committee is responsible for planning and implementing the annual conference. The executive assistant(s) manage the annual conference and collaborate with the president on the planning and execution of the conference. The Executive Assistants appoint members of the Conference Committee in consultation with the NCRA president.


7.  Young Authors Committee: Chairperson: Appointed by President

The Young Authors Committee shall implement a writing project that provides opportunities for young writers and NCRA members (Forever Young) to publish their work. The project is outlined by the Association’s leaders and reflects the purposes and goals of NCRA.


8.  Advocacy Committee: Chairperson: Appointed by President

The Advocacy Committee shall advocate for and champion NCRA’s mission and goals through marketing and communications with the membership, general public, and policy makers. The committee shall advocate for teachers and children across the state to support efforts (including, but not limited to legislation) that promote effective literacy instruction.


9.  Membership Committee: Chairperson: Director of Membership Development

The Membership Committee shall be responsible for all matters related to membership in the local state, and international associations, including campaigns and data management.


10.  Partnerships Committee: Chairperson: Appointed by President

The Partnerships Committee is responsible for outreach and collaboration with local, state, national, and international entities interested in promoting and supporting literacy development.


11.  Ad-hoc Committees.

Ad-Hoc Committees may be authorized from time-to-time by the Executive Committee and the Board of Directors and shall serve the purpose/s specified.

Questions? Contact NCRA President.