2018 Authors

Check out our authors for the 2018 NCRA Conference.

Kelly Gallagher

Since 1985, Kelly Gallagher has devoted himself to the teaching of reading, writing, listening and speaking—first and foremost, as a high school ELA teacher in Anaheim, California, and also as a author/consultant who works with educators around the world.  Today, he is considered one of the leading voices in literacy education. Learn more about Kelly … Continue reading Kelly Gallagher

Dr. Jan Richardson

Jan Richardson, Ph.D., a leading expert in guided reading, is a former K-12 teacher, reading specialist, Reading Recovery teacher leader, and staff developer. She currently is an educational consultant, providing presentations and classroom demonstrations across the U.S. and Canada. Dr. Richardson’s best-selling Next Step collection includes The Next Step Forward in Guided Reading; Literacy Footprints: … Continue reading Dr. Jan Richardson

Eric Litwin

“Eric Litwin is a song singing, guitar strumming, # 1 New York Times Best Selling author who brings early literacy and music together. He is the original author of the Pete the Cat series as well as the author of The Nuts and Groovy Joe. Eric’s books have sold over 10 million copies, been translated into 15 languages, and won 19 literacy awards including a Theodor Geisel Seuss … Continue reading Eric Litwin

Gordon Korman

Learn more about Gordon Korman here.

Dr. Linda Hoyt

“When Linda Hoyt is asked what people should know about her professional career, she is often heard to say, “I’m a teacher. That will always be the heart of my professional work.” Though she spent many years as a classroom teacher, reading specialist, curriculum developer, staff developer, and Title I District Coordinator, Linda’s passion will always center … Continue reading Dr. Linda Hoyt

Robert Beatty

“Robert Beatty is the author of the #1 New York Times best selling Serafina series published by Disney Hyperion, a spooky mystery-thriller about a brave and unusual girl who lives secretly in the basement of the grand Biltmore Estate.” Learn more about Robert Beatty here.

John Claude Bemis

An inspiring speaker and entertaining performer, John Claude Bemis is the author of The Wooden Prince, Lord of Monsters, the Clockwork Dark trilogy, The Prince Who Fell from the Sky, and Flora and the Runaway Rooster. He received the Excellence in Teaching Award from UNC Chapel Hill’s School of Education for his work in the schools as an … Continue reading John Claude Bemis

Kelly Starling Lyons

Learn more about Kelly Starling Lyons here.

Fred Bowen

Learn more about Fred Bowen here.

Stacy McAnulty

Stacy McAnulty is a children’s book author, who used to be a mechanical engineer, who’s also qualified to be a paleontologist (not really), a correspondent for The Daily Show (why not), and a Green Bay Packer coach (totally!). She is the 2017 Ezra Jack Keats Book New Writer Honor Recipient for Excellent Ed, illustrated by Julia Sarcone-Roach. Her … Continue reading Stacy McAnulty

Katie Garner

Katie Garner, M.Ed. (author of the best-selling book, SECRET STORIES®—Cracking the Reading Code with the Brain in Mind!) is an internationally known educational speaker, author, and literacy consultant with twenty five years of experience in elementary grade classrooms, and a passion for infusing neuroscience into literacy and learning. Her “backdoor-to-the-brain” approach to phonics skill acquisition … Continue reading Katie Garner

Apron Ladies

Beth Stevens and Terri Heidger are two Florida teachers who share common educational experiences, values and vision. They started a small business, The Apron Ladies, based on an original idea and philosophy of how young readers develop into strategic readers. The Good Reader Apron is a tool for teachers to build good readers one block … Continue reading Apron Ladies

Jason Griffin

Jason Griffin is a 2017 National Distinguished Principal and the current Wells Fargo North Carolina Principal of the Year.  Mr. Griffin is well known for moving a low performing school to a “B” school in two years.  He is an innovative school leader who understands the importance of collaboration, school culture, and personalizing learning.  Please join … Continue reading Jason Griffin